Underwood Stakes 2024

Underwood Stakes

Preview, Trends & Analysis

The Rundown

The Underwood Stakes is one of the staple Group 1 events of the Melbourne spring carnival.  

In 2020, The Underwood Stakes was run Sandown for the first time in its 97-year history. 

Traditionally run at Caulfield over 1800 metres at Weight-for-Age level, it was a race inaugurated and first unveiled in 1924. 

It holds a total prize pool of $750,000 AUD and is the richest race in Australia over this specific distance. 

The race was endeared as a ‘Principal Race’ from 1924 to 1978 and gained Group 1 recognition from 1979 onwards. 

The Underwood Stakes was not always run at ‘The Heath’ as Caulfield is colloquially to racing folk and the locals. 

Williamstown Racecourse was the home of The Underwood Stakes from 1924 to 1947. 

The Famous Winners and Record Results

It’s as exciting an honour roll as we see in any on the Australian racing calendar. 

We can go all the way back to 1931 to reference a household name with Pharlap winning the race 90 years ago. 

Closer to today Black Heart Bart (2016, 2019) scored a double in the race, but it was 2019 victory that sent people into a frenzy as he won the race at $101 despite being near the end of his illustrious career. 

Ajax (1938, 1939, 1940) holds the record for most wins in the race and there have been a host of gallopers to have won the race twice. 

Northerly (2001, 2002), Aquanita (1961, 1962), Lord (1958, 1960), Flying Halo (1953, 1954), Beau Gem (1949, 1950) Attley (1946, 1947), Young Idea (1935, 1937), Hall Mark (1933, 1934), Highland (1928, 1929) and Whittier (1924, 1925) are all multiple winners of the race. 

Champion middle-distance star It’s A Dundeel, now known as Dundeel, pulled off one of biggest upsets of the race when he nabbed star mare Atalantic Jewel right on the line. 

New Zealand-trained horses won three times on the trot from 2011-13 and again in 2017 with Bonneval. 

He may have went around a $7.5 elect, but Atlantic Jewel was highly fancied by many and started an odds-on favourite having gone into the race undefeated. 

Bonecrusher (1986) used this as his platform prior to scoring arguably the most iconic Cox Plate win of all time. 

Other famous winners include Elvstroem (2004), Mummify (2003), Tie The Knot (1998) and Octagonal (1996).

The Statistics

The Underwood Stakes Recent Winners

Year  Winner Trainer Jockey Odds 
2022 Alligator BloodGai Waterhouse & Adrian BottTim Clark $8.1
2021 ZaakiAnnabel NeashamCraig Williams$1.20
2020 Russian CamelotDanny O’BrienDamien Oliver $1.50 
2019 Black Heart BartLindsey SmithBrad Rawiller$101
2018 Homesman Liam HowleyBen Melham$5 
2017 BonnevalMurray Baker & Andrew Forsman Hugh Bowman$4.4
2016 Black Heart BartDarren Weir Brad Rawiller$2.2
2015 MourinhoPeter Gelagotis Vlad Duric$18
2014 ForetellerChris WallerGlen Boss $6.5
2013 It’s A DundeelMurray BakerJames McDonald$7
2012 Ocean ParkGary HennesseyDanny Nikolic $8
2011 Lion Tamer Murray BakerMichael Rodd$16
2010 So You Think Bart Cummings Steven Arnold$1.75

The Questions

When is the Underwood Stakes held?

The race will be run and won on the 1st of October, 2023 at Sandown Racecourse.

Are there any other races on the day?
  • Yes. 
  • There will be other races on the card which includes the running of the Group 3 Sandown Stakes (1500m), the Listed Jim Moloney (1400m) and the Listed Testa Rossa Stakes (1300m). 
How do I bet on the Underwood Stakes?
  • Punch in betdeluxe.com.au to your browser and find your home for all your different types of ways to bet not only on Group 1 Underwood Stakes Day but every race across Australia.  
Where do the winners of the Underwood Stakes race next?

The winner and runners in the Underwood Stakes of the race may head towards the Cox Plate (2040m), the Caulfield Cup (2400m) or potentially a Melbourne Cup (3200m).

How To Bet On The Underwood Stakes

Go on... Deluxe yourself!

Close Bitnami banner