All-Star Mile 2024

All Star Mile

Preview, Trends & Analysis

The Rundown

Racing Victoria’s newest baby on the racing calendar came to fruition in 2019. 

The All-Star Mile was first run at Flemington with Tasmanian champion Mystic Journey taking out the race after winning the Australian Guineas. 

The prize pool for the All-Star Mile is set at a whopping $5,000,000 making it the richest mile race on turf in the world. 

It has since been run at Caulfield and Moonee Valley, and is now set to return to VRC Headquarters at Flemington in 2022. 

The field is limited to a vote which allows everyone and anyone to pick 10 of their favourite horse nominated for the race, while five other spots are granted to horses who can obtain a wildcard entry. 

The All-Star mile was supposedly inspired by the famous fan-voted Japanese race, the Arima Kinen.

The All-Star mile provides an opportunity for punters to become owner ambassadors and share in the winning prize money should their allotted horse win. 

The Famous Winners and Record Results

There have been three runnings of the All-Star Mile to date. 

The first winner was champion Tasmanian galloper Mystic Journey. 

Trainer Adam Trinder guided her to victory as a three-year-old filly after she was brilliant winner of the Australian Guineas at her prior start. 

2020 then produced gun Western Australian horse Regal Power with William Pike aboard as he charged to victory at what was an empty Caulfield due to COVID. 

The 2021 race was arguably the best edition as Mugatoo ran down Russian Camelot in a muddy slog-fest ding-dong battle up the Moonee Valley straight. 

Every year has provided a different winning trainer with Grant & Alana Williams then Kris Lees succeeding Trinder. 

To date, we have also seen a mixture of jockeys to have won the race with Anthony Darmanin, William Pike and Hugh Bowman sharing the spoils. 

The Statistics

The All-Star Mile Recent Winners

Year WinnerTrainerJockeyOdds
2023Mr. BrightsideBen & JD HayesLuke Currie $6.2
2022ZaakiAnnabel NeashamJamie Kah $2.6
2021MugatooKris LeesHugh Bowman$9
2020Regal PowerGrant & Alana WilliamsWilliam Pike$11
2019Mystic JourneyAdam TrinderAnthony Darmanin$3.6

The Questions

When is the All-Star Mile held?

The race will be run and won on the 24th of March, 2024 at Flemington.

Are there any other races on the day?
  • There will be another eight races on the day.
  • A host of open class and handicap races will likely be scheduled around the All-Star Mile program at Flemington.
How do I bet on the All-Star Mile?
  • Punch in to your browser and find your home for all your different types of ways to bet not only on All-Star Mile but every race across Australia.  
Where do the winners and runners of the All-Star Mile race next?

It is either off to spelling paddock or off to the Doncaster Handicap for the winners and runners of the All-Star Mile. 

How To Bet On The All-Star Mile

Go on... Deluxe yourself!

Close Bitnami banner