Tancred Stakes 2024

Tancred Stakes

Preview, Trends & Analysis

The Rundown

The Tancred Stakes is one of a kind. 

It is the only Group 1 Weight-for-Age race run over 2400 metres on the Australian racing calendar.

It attracts star prospects and champions almost every year and is one of the most prestigious events during the Sydney autumn carnival. 

The event garners a prize pool over $1,500,000. 

Formerly known as ‘The BMW’ through the 2000s, the name of the race was changed back ‘Tancred’ in 2018. 

Former Sydney Turf Club chairman Hugh Tancred is who the Tancred Stakes is named after. 

The Famous Winners and Record Results

Champion import and Cox Plate winner Sir Dragonet crushed his rivals to win the Tancred Stakes in 2021.

Unfortunately, for punters and connections, Sir Dragonet has since passed away and a new champion will be crowned in 2022. 

The honour role in the Tancred Stakes is one that puts a sparkle in the eye. 

Melbourne Cup champion and 10-time Group 1 winner Verry Elleegant triumphed in the Tancred Stakes back in 2020 to make it a second success in the race for trainer Chris Waller. 

Preferment (2016) was Waller’s first win the race. 

Godolphin, like Waller, has pinched the race twice with the old marvel Avilius (2019) and Hartnell (2015) getting the job done. 

If we scroll back further, Makybe Diva (2015), Tie The Knot (2000, 1999), Might and Power (1998), Octagonal (1997, 1996), Bonecrusher (1986) and Kingston Town (1980) have ticked the Tancred Stakes off on their winning resume. 

The Statistics

The Australian Guineas Recent Winners

Year  Winner Trainer Jockey Odds 
2023 Duais Edward Cummings Joshua Parr $13.4
2022 Aparaho Bjorn Baker Ms. Rachel King $2.5
2021 Sir Dragonet Ciaron Maher & Dave EustaceGlen Boss$5.5 
2020 Verry ElleegantChris WallerJames McDonald$2.15 
2019 AviliusJames Cummings James McDonald $1.6
2018 AlmandinLiam Howley Kerrin McEvoy $3
2017 JamekaCiaron MaherHugh Bowman$3 
2016 Preferment Chris WallerHugh Bowman$4.2 
2015 Hartnell John O’Shea James McDonald $3
2014 Silent AchieverRoger JamesNash Rawiller$3.8 
2013 Fiveandahalfstar Anthony CummingsHugh Bowman $4.4 
2012 Manighar Peter Moody Peter Moody$4
2011 Cedarberg Pat Carey Damien Oliver $26 
2010 Littorio Nigel Blackiston Craig Williams$17

The Questions

When is the Tancred Stakes held?

The race will be run and won on the 26th of March, 2022 at Rosehill Gardens. 

Are there any other races on the day?
  • There are eight other races that will accompany the Tancred Stakes in 2022.
  • Most notably, the Doncaster Prelude (1400m) and the Group 1 Vinery Stud Stakes (2000m). 
How do I bet on the Tancred Stakes?
  • Punch in betdeluxe.com.au to your browser and find your home for all your different types of ways to bet not only on Tancred Stakes but every race across Australia.  
Where do the runners of the Tancred Stakes race next?

The winner and runners of the Tancred Stakes may head towards the Sydney Cup (3200m) later in the Sydney autumn carnival or some may opt to spell with race being their grand final. 

How To Bet On The Tancred Stakes?

Go on... Deluxe yourself!

Close Bitnami banner