The Everest 2022 - Tips, Preview & Analysis | BetDeluxe Tips

The Everest 2022

The Everest

Preview, Trends & Analysis

The Rundown

The world’s richest race on turf.

The Everest sprint run over 1200 metres hands the biggest first place purse in global racing to its winner.

The race has a peculiar entry system whereby 12 slots are allotted for the sale price of $600,000 purchasers who wish to fork out the entry fee in order to race, lease, contract or on-sell their slot.

NSW Racing boss Peter V’Landys is said to be the brainchild of the idea in an attempt to trump the Melbourne Racing Carnival with this new addition to the Sydney Spring Carnival.

The event has garnered the attention of racing fans world wide with its inaugural running in 2017 being won by Peter & Paul Snowden-trained sprinter Redzel.

The Famous Winners and Record Results

Redzel went back-to-back with wins in the 2017 and 2018 editions of The Everest being trained by Peter & Paul Snowden and ridden by champion jockey Kerrin McEvoy on both occasions.

His 2017 win saw him defeat Vega Magic and Brave Smash, while 2018 saw him hold off Golden Slipper winner Trapeze Artist and Osbourne Bulls.

In doing so, he catapulted himself to second place – behind Winx – for the highest prize money earned on Australian turf.

The Chris Waller-trained Yes Yes Yes (2018) earned the Sydney-based trainer his first Everest success.

It was a genius move by Waller and his stable who freshened him up and applied the blinkers for the first time after a runner-up finish behind Bivouac in the Golden Rose Stakes (1400m).

The three-year-old colt struck gold with Glen Boss guiding him to victory and as a result it meant his prize money topped $7million (AUD) which led him to being retired from racing to take up a stud career.

Kerrin McEvoy has climbed to the summit of The Everest on three out of four occasions after riding Redzel to a double and Classique Legend. 

The Statistics

Of the four times The Everest has been won, a different barrier has graced us with the winner every time.

In 2017 it was barrier four, in 2018 it was barrier one, in 2019 it was barrier nine, in 2020 it was barrier six and in 2021 it was barrier 10 with Nature Strip winning. 

From the eight place getters in the history of the race only two of them have drawn a double figure barrier.

Vega Magic (2017) and Bivouac (2020) both drew barrier ten in their respective runner-up finishes.

It has been a very mixed bag of results for favourites in The Everest.

The 2020 Everest champion Classique Legend became the first ever favourite to win the race after he darted away with a two-and-a-half length victory at an SP of $4.2.

2019 and 2018 was a disaster for favourite punters with Arcadia Queen (2019) and Shoals (2018) both starting $5 favourites only to fall well short and run second last.

The David and Ben Hayes and Tom Dabernig-trained Vega Magic finished second behind Redzel in 2017 as a $4.8 favourite.

The boys have absolutely dominated this race.

In fact, not one mare or filly has won or filled a place in this race.

All four editions of The Everest have been taken out by a gelding or a colt.

Redzel and Classique Legend are the geldings to have won the race, while Yes Yes Yes is the sole colt to have won.

Yes Yes Yes is also the only three-year-old to have been considered a genuine threat in the 2019 edition race and he proved his worth.

Gaining a slot in the Everest is only reserved for a gun sprinters. 

Form that comes from the Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes, Group 1 All Aged Stakes (1400m), Group 1 Moir Stakes (1200m), Group 3 Concorde Stakes (1000m), Group 2 The Shorts (1100m) and the Group 2 Premiere Stakes (1200m) is what will attract most slot-holders. 

The Everest Recent Winners







Nature Strip

Chris Waller

James McDonald



Classique Legend

Les Bridge

Kerrin McEvoy



Yes Yes Yes

Chris Waller

Glen Boss




Peter & Paul Snowden

Kerry McEvoy




Peter & Paul Snowden

Kerry McEvoy


The Questions

  • 16th October, 2021.

  • The Everest Raceday hosts The Kosciuszko which is the ‘country racing’ edition of The Everest. 
  • The day also contains The Victory Vein Plate (1000m) for two-year-old sprinters, The Group 3 Sydney Stakes (1200m), The Group 3 Craven Plate (2000m) and the ARC St Ledger Stakes (2600m). 

  • Download the brand new BetDeluxe app on iPhone or Android from your app store and/or punch in to your browser.

    BetDeluxe is your home for all different types of ways to bet not only on The Everest but every race across Australia. 

  • Most winners or placegetters will trek down south to Melbourne for the Group 1 VRC Sprint Classic over 1200 metres up the Flemington straight. 
  • Nature Strip (2019) and Bivouac (2020) franked their Everest form by winning the VRC Sprint Classic. 
  • Yes Yes Yes went straight to the breeding barn so expect that to occur if a colt or stallion wins the race. 
  • Some runners head straight to the paddock in preparation for the Autumn Group 1 sprints such as the TJ Smith (1200m).

How To Bet On The Everest

Close Bitnami banner