VRC Oaks 2024

VRC Oaks

Preview, Trends & Analysis

The Rundown

The VRC Oaks is the premier staying event for the three-year-old fillies who are part of the Spring Racing Carnival. 

Run over 2500 metres at Flemington, the race boasts a $1,000,000 prize pool with the the winner receiving $600,000. 

The inaugural running of the VRC Oaks dates all the way back to 1861 with the first winner of the race being Palestine. 

A genuine stamina sapping test for the three-year-old fillies, the race is run on the third day of the Flemington Spring Racing Carnival which falls on a Thursday. 

The day is usually centred around a focus on the women at the racetrack with Oaks Day being dubbed ‘Ladies Day.’ 

The VRC Oaks ranks equal first as the most valuable race for fillies in Australia alongside the AJC Oaks and the Queen of The Turf. 

The Famous Winners and Record Results

Jockeys and trainers have made this race their own in recent memory. 

This year, Damien Oliver equalled Bobbie Lewis’ record for wins in the race by claiming his seventh Oaks victory when piloting Willowy to success. 

The victory made it the first success in the Oaks for the Godolphin training operation in Australia. 

Legendary trainer Bart Cummings is the current record holder from a trainers perspective having won the race an unprecedented nine times. 

Faint Perfume (2009) was Bart’s final victory in the race before his death. 

Other famous winners of the Oaks include Jameka (2015) who would then go on to become a staying champion by winning the Caulfield Cup the following the year. 

Mosheen (2011) bolted in the Oaks in sloppy and heavy conditions, while Samantha Miss (2008) and star filly Miss Finland (2006) were also triumphant. 

Melbourne Cup winning horse Light Fingers (1964) also made the race her own. 

The Statistics

VRC Oaks Recent Winners








James Cummings

Damien Oliver




Tom Dabernig & Ben Hayes

Damien Oliver



Miami Bound 

Danny O’Brien

Damien Oliver




Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra

Damian Lane




Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott

Stephen Baster



Lasqueti Spirit

Lee Curtis

Brenton Avdulla




Ciaron Maher

Damien Oliver



Set Square 

Ciaron Maher

Hugh Bowman




John Sargent

Nash Rawiller



Dear Demi

Clarry Conners

Jim Cassidy




Robert Smerdon

Danny Nikolic



Brazilian Pulse

Michael Moroney

Craig Williams


The Questions

When is the VRC Oaks held?

3rd November, 2022.

Are there any other races on the day?
  • Yes, there are eight other races on the nine-race program.
  • The Inglis Bracelet (1600m), The Darley Ottawa Stakes (1000m), The Century Stakes (1000m) and the Melbourne Cup Carnival Country Cup Final (1600m) are also feature events on the day. 
How do I bet on the VRC Oaks?
  • Download the brand new BetDeluxe app on iPhone or Android from your app store and/or punch in betdeluxe.com.au to your browser.

    BetDeluxe is your home for all different types of ways to bet not only on the VRC Oaks but every race across Australia.
Where do the winners and runners of the VRC Oaks race next?
  • Given the VRC Oaks is usually the final target race for juvenule staying horses in the spring, nearly all runners will head to the spelling paddock. 
  • A return in the Autumn to the tackle staying races such as the AJC Oaks might be on the offering.

How To Bet On The VRC Oaks?

Go on... Deluxe yourself!

Close Bitnami banner