Coolmore Stud Stakes 2024

Coolmore Stud Stakes

Preview, Trends & Analysis

The Rundown

The Coolmore Stud Stakes is one the most exciting sprint races up the Flemington straight during the Flemington Spring Racing Carnival. 

Run over 1200 metres or six furlongs in the old, the straight dash is reserved solely for three-year-old sprinters who possess blistering speed and electric acceleration. 

Inaugurated in 1863, the Coolmore Stud Stakes was originally restricted to two-year-olds. 

That rule was changed to make the race a three-year-old event in the year 1969 when Vain became the first ever winner of the race under three-year-old conditions. 

The race features an incredible honour roll as we have seen champion after champion grace the hallowed ground of Flemington from the 1200-metre start onto the course and down to the finish line. 

The Coolmore Stud Stakes won only by special juvenile sprinters who can handle the wide, open surroundings of the Flemington straight course. 

The Famous Winners and Record Results

You can look in so many directions to find great winners and champions gone by in the Coolmore Stud Stakes. 

Let us start with none other than bomb-proof sprinter Manikato (1978) who bounded away to win the race for legendary trainer Bob Hoysted. 

Zedative (1988), Courtza (1989) and Encosta De Lago (1996) are just some the champions of a bygone era to have dashed to the victory in the Coolmore Stud Stakes. 

More recently, since 2004, the famous names have continue to pile up in the winners list of the Coolmore Stud STakes. 

Alinghi (2004) scorched home to win the race in what was one of his four Group 1 career successes. 

Crowd favourite and punters sentimental elect Weekend Hussler put pay to his rivals in 2007 and gun sire Northern Meteor etched his path to the breeding barn with victory in the Coolmore Stud Stakes in 2008. 

Blue Diamond winner Star Witness (2010) burst home to score victory, while freak Darley sprinter Sepoy, who was trained by Peter Snowden, strode to triumph in 2011. 

Chris Waller has a fantastic record in the race in recent years as well. 

Sine 2013, the champion NSW-based trainer has won the race on four occasions. 

Star stallion Zoustar (2013), Brazen Beau (2014), Japonisme (2015) and most recently September Run (2020) have been winners of the Coolmore Stud Stakes for Waller. 

From an actual pure perspective, one of the more eye-catching and brilliant performances was reserved for Merchant Navy (2017). 

The 2022 edition of the Coolmore Stud Stakes was won by the James Cummings-trained In Secret. 

From 2013 – 2021, trainer Chris Waller honed five of the nine Coolmore Stud Stakes winners, most recently Home Affairs (2021) who won by three lengths. 

The Ciaron Maher-trained sprinter carved an incredible path through the field to nab victory on the line and begin his journey overseas where he was acquired by Coolmore as a breeding stallion. 

The Statistics

Coolmore Stud Stakes Recent Winners

Year  Winner Trainer Jockey Odds 
2022 In SecretJames CummingsJames McDonald$3
2021 Home AffairsChris WallerJames McDonald$5.5
2020 September RunChris Waller Craig Williams $4 
2019 Exceedance M, W & HawkesDwayne Dunn$3.8
2018 SunlightTony McEvoy Luke Currie $5.5 
2017 Merchant Navy Aaron PurcellMark Zahra $10
2016 Flying Artie Mick Price Hugh Bowman$9 
2015 Japonisme Chris Waller Glyn Schofield$21 
2014 Brazen BeauChris WallerJoao Moreira $8
2013 ZoustarChris WallerJim Cassidy$2
2012 NechitaJohn ThompsonChristian Reith $5.5 
2011 Sepoy Peter SnowdenKerrin McEvoy $1.3 
2010 Star Witness Danny O’Brien James Winks $5 

The Questions

When is the Coolmore Stud Stakes held?

The race will be run and won on Saturday the 4th November, 2023 at Flemington Racecourse.

Are there any other races on the day?
  • The Coolmore Stud Stakes is run on Derby Day. 
  • It is a card that include two other Group 1 events including the Victoria Derby and the Empire Rose Stakes. 
How do I bet on the Coolmore Stud Stakes?
  • Punch in to your browser and find your home for all your different types of ways to bet not only on Coolmore Stud Stakes but every race across Australia.  
Where do the winners of the Coolmore Stud race next?

A lot of the runners in the Coolmore Stud Stakes will usually head straight to the paddock and come back in the Autumn for the VRC Sprint Classic and the Lightning Stakes. 

Some winners may even end up retiring and will then head straight to the breeding barns.

How To Bet On Coolmore Stud Staked

Go on... Deluxe yourself!

Close Bitnami banner