Turnbull Stakes 2024

Turnbull Stakes

Preview, Trends & Analysis

The Rundown

There are not too many 2000-metre Group 1 events around the world or Australia that compare to the Cox Plate, but the Turnbull Stakes is one of, if not, the closest you will get to a Cox Plate without it being a Cox Plate.

The current name “Turnbull Stakes” is in reference and dedication to the VRC chairman at the time Richard Turnbull. 

The Turnbull Stakes is a Group 1 race made famous by the brilliant gallopers who have competed in and won this event since the year of its inception in 1865.

The circuit itself begins at one of the chutes towards the back straight of Flemington racecourse and the horses go by the well-known Chiquita Lodge stables.

It entails a straight line run towards the first corner of the race of about 400 metres and then the long-sweeping run into the home straight begins.

This race entails a mixture of stamina and acceleration that only the best of horses are equipped with.

Many of the horses who compete in the race use this as a stepping stone onto the Cox Plate, Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup.

That race is now part of a Cox Plate bonus scheme which rewards a horse to win the Turnbull Stakes/Cox Plate double in the same year a whopping $1,000,000 worth of extra prizemoney.

It is a massive feature event on the Flemington program and is one of the most looked at form references for punters come spring carnival time.

The Famous Winners and Record Results

Like many of the 2000-metre weight for age events we have in our country, Winx is the gorgeous girl who tops the charts with her wins in 2017 and 2018 showcasing to the world why we consider her our greatest ever.

Many would argue the 2017 eight-length pummelling she gave her rivals was the most brilliant of two victories, but it is safe say the barnstorming finish of her 2018 win, where she ran down stablemate Youngstar, was the better of the two.   

Comic Court (1949 & 1950) and Vo Rogue (1987 & 1988) are also included in the only dual winners of the event.

Trainer Chris Waller has made this race a staple of his racing success in the last decade having won five of the last six times this race has been run and won.

In 2021, Incentivise won the Makbye Diva stakes and clinching another win in the Turnbull Stakes.

Waller has won this race fours year in a row with Kings Will Dream (2019) returning from injury to win and star mare Verry Elleegant the reigning champion of the race.

Godolphin warrior Hartnell bolted in the 2016 edition in what is said to be one of the most brutally run Turnbull Stakes in recent times.

It is not a race that has caused a massive blowout with All Our Mob in 1995 being the biggest in the history of the race at $34.

The Statistics

The Turnball Stakes Recent Winners

Year HorseTrainer Jockey Odds 
2022Smokin’ RomansCiaron Maher & David Eustace Ethan Brown $22.5 
2021IncentivisePeter MoodyBrett Prebble$2.8
2020Verry ElleegantChris WallerMark Zahra$5.5
2019Kings Will DreamChris WallerJye Mcneil$10
2018WinxChris WallerHugh Bowman$1.20
2017WinxChris WallerHugh Bowman$1.10
2016HartnellJohn O’SheaJames McDonald$2
2015PrefermentChris WallerHugh Bowman$12
2014Lucia ValentinaKris LeesKerrin McEvoy$5
2013Happy TrailsDwayne DunnPaul Beshara$15
2012Green MoonRobert HickmottCraig Williams$4
2011December DrawMark KavanaghMichael Rodd$2.15
2010ZippingRobert HickmottNicholas Hall$13
2020Verry ElleegantChris WallerMark Zahra$5.5

The Questions

When is the 2023 Turnbull Stakes?
  • 7th October, 2023.
Are there any other races on the day?

Yes. Turnbull Stakes Day is supported by a host of Group and Listed races on the day. 

– The Maribyrnong Stakes 
– The Paris Lane Stakes
– The Gilgai Stakes
– The Edward Manifold Stakes
– The Bart Cummings
– The Rose of Kingston Stakes
– The Super Impose Stakes

How do I bet on the Turnbull Stakes?
  • Download the brand new BetDeluxe app on iPhone or Android from your app store and/or punch in betdeluxe.com.au to your browser.

    BetDeluxe is your home for all different types of ways to bet not only on Turnbull Stakes Day but every race across Australia.
Where do the winners of the Turnbull Stakes race next?

The winner or runners in the race may head towards a Cox Plate path if their trainers think they are good enough.

Most of the field use this race as a stepping stone towards the Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup.

How To Bet On The Turnbull Stakes

Go on... Deluxe yourself!

Close Bitnami banner