Magic Millions 2YO Classic 2024

Magic Millions 2YO Classic

Preview, Trends & Analysis

The Rundown

The Magic Millions 2YO Classic (1200m) is run under restricted set weights conditions reserved solely for two-year-old horses who are eligible to enter the race.

With a prize pool of $2,000,000 plus added bonuses, the race represents a huge opportunity for talented juveniles to launch stud and breeding careers. 

Run at the Gold Coast Turf Club, the race was first held in 1987 as part of a push to incorporate the Gold Coast Yearling Sale. 

The race is those fully restricted to horses that have been sold or passed-in at one of the Magic Millions sales across Australia. 

The Magic Millions 2YO Classic was part of a massive prize money increase back in 2017. 

The raceday became the first card in Australia to amass a total prizepool on the day of $10,000,000.  

The Famous Winners and Record Results

The inaugural winner of the race back in 1987 was a horse called Snippets. 

Since then, a heap of breeding superstars and juveniles have crossed the post in first place. 

Let’s start in 1999, when champion Testa Rossa won the race and went on to forge a brilliant career. 

Rolling forward, 2004 was the year we saw the first horse ever to do the Golden Slipper-Magic Millions double with Dance Hero achieving the feat. 

His winning efforts were then followed up by Phelan Ready (2009) and Capitalist (2016) who both went on to win the Golden Slipper-Magic Millions double as well. 

Sunlight is arguably the most famous of horses in the last decade to have collected the winning cheque in the Magic Millions 2YO Classic. 

Speed machine Houtzen was also victorious in 2017 and it marked the first win in the race for trainer Toby Edmonds. 

The Statistics

Recent Winners

Year  Winner Trainer Jockey Odds 
2023 Skirt the Law Tony Gollan Ryan Maloney $7.2
2022 Coolangatta Ciaron Maher & David Eustace James McDonald $1.8
2021 ShaqueroChris WallerHugh Bowman$12
2020 Away GameCiaron Maher & Dave Eustace Luke Currie$41 
2019 Exhilarates  James CummingsKerrin McEvoy $4 
2018 Sunlight  Tony McEvoy Luke Currie $4 
2017 Houtzen  Toby Edmonds Jeff Lloyd $4 
2016 Capitalist Peter & Paul SnowdenBlake Shinn $1.4 
2015 Le Chef Darryl Hansen Luke Tarrant $16 
2014 Unencumbered Bjorn BakerNathan Berry$5 
2013 Real Surreal Kelso Wood Michael Cahill $5 
2012 Driefontein Gai Waterhouse Tommy Berry $3.4 
2011 Karuta Queen Neville Layt Tommy Berry $3.5 
2010 Military Rose Gillian Heinrich Stathi Katsidis $4 


When is the Magic Millions 2YO Classic held?

Saturday 15th January, 2022

Are there any other races on the day?
  • Yes, there are eight other races on the day that make up over $10,000,000 worth of prize money. 
  • The races include the Magic Millions 3YO Guineas, The Magic Millions Cup, Magic Millions Snippets, Magic Millions Subzero Handicap and the Magic Millions Fillies & Mares. 
How do I bet on the Magic Millions 2YO Classic?
  • Punch in to your browser and find your home for all your different types of ways to bet not only on the Magic Millions 2YO Classic but every race across Australia.  
Where do the winners of the Magic Millions 2YO race next?
  • Some winners head to the spelling paddock with this being their grand-final before going for a rest.

  • Other winners and runners will head towards the Golden Slipper at Rosehill for the Sydney Autumn Carnival or the Blue Diamond at Caulfield.

Go on... Deluxe yourself!

Close Bitnami banner