Brisbane Cup 2022 - Preview, Tips & Analysis | BetDeluxe Tips

Brisbane Cup 2022

Brisbane Cup

Preview, Trends & Analysis

The Rundown

The feature 3200-metre staying event of Queensland Racing has been run and won by many great horses. 
Since its inception in 1866, the Brisbane Cup has been held 154 times with a period during World War Two (1942-1945) and last year being the only times the race has not been held.  
The race itself has been run through a variety of distances; more recently from the years 1973 to 2006 it was run over the current distance we see this year but was dropped down to 2400 metres from 2007 to 2014.  
Due to track reconstruction and refurbishments at Eagle Farm, the event was transferred to Doomben racecourse and the distance dropped again, this time to 2200 metres 
In 2019, the race returned to its traditional home was won by European import Sixties Groove.

The Famous Winners and Record Results

Arguably the most famous winner of the race was Melbourne Cup and Caulfield Cup champion Viewed.  
The Bart Cummings-trained and Dato Tan Chin Nam-owned gelding took out the 2008 version prior to his Group 1 Cup double down south.  
Other famous winners include the champion West Australian horse Scenic Shot (2009), multiple Group 1 winner and arguable one of Australia’s greatest ever thoroughbreds Tulloch (1964) trained by the legendary Tommy Smith, Caulfield Cup winner Redcraze (1956) and Hydrogen (1953).  
Tommy Smith, father of Gai Waterhouse, is a five-time winner of the Brisbane Cup.  
Waterhouse continued her father’s legacy by winning two of her own with Tullamore (2011), Sedanzer (2018) and most recently Knights Order (2021). 

The Statistics

Since the year 2000 barrier one has proven the most successful barrier to draw.  

The inside marble has provided four winners;  

  • Star Covet (2001) 
  • Newport (2007) 
  • Chocante (2017)
  • Sedanzer (2018) 

Double figure barriers have the slight advantage with 10 horses winning from double figure numbered barriers, while nine have won from single figure barriers.  

The most successful wide barriers in the event since 2000 have been 15 and 16 with both boasting two winners each. 

Incredibly, only one favourite had won the race since 2010, but Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott’s Knights Order well and truly bucked that trend by bolting in the 2021 edition. 
That last favourite before him was trained by Waterhouse & Bott as well with Sedanzer winning 2018 as a $2.7 elect in the market.  
The lowest price winner who was not a favourite in the race was Lights of Heaven who won the race as a $3.5 second elect.  
Jetset Lad has been the longest priced winner since 2010 after winning the race and paying a final figure of 40 to 1.

Since 2000 the race has been dominated by male horses.  
16 of the 20 winners crowned since the turn of the century have either been geldings or entires with only four of those winners being mares.  
Four-year-old horses have won the race six times since 2000, while six-year-old horses have won the race five times.  
The race has been barren of three-year-olds even though they are allowed to nominate. No three-year-old has won the race since 2000.  

The traditional lead-up race for most Brisbane Cup winners is usually through the Doomben Cup (2000m) or the Premier’s Cup (2400m).  
Scenic Shot lugged around 60kgs to win the Brisbane Cup in 2009 and was the most recent horse to do the Doomben Cup – Brisbane Cup double.  

The Brisbane Cup Recent Winners







Knights Order

Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott 

Tim Clark








Sixties Groove 

Kris Lees 

Damien Oliver 




Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott 

Tim Clark 




Stephen Marsh 

Jim Byrne 




Adrian & Harry Bull 

R J Myers 



Jetset Lad 

Brian Smith 

Paul Hammersley 




Kerrin McEvoy 

Luke Nolen 




Chris Waller 

Nash Rawiller 



Lights of Heaven 

Peter Moody 

Luke Nolen 




Gai Waterhouse 

Chris Munce 




Bevan & Richard Laming 

Chris Munce 


The Brisbane Cup FAQs

Saturday June 11th, 2022. 

  • Yes. The Brisbane Cup coincides with arguably the biggest day in Queensland racing and that is Stradbroke Handicap day. Other races on the day in the QE22 as well as the JJ Atkins for three-year-olds 

  • Punch in to your browser and find your home for all your different types of ways to bet not only on the Brisbane Cup but every race across Australia.  

  • Some winners head to the spelling paddock with this being their grand-final before going for a rest.

  • Some winners and runners have been known to head towards a Melbourne Cup or Caulfield Cup.

Close Bitnami banner