Tancred Stakes 2022 | BetDeluxe Tips

Tancred Stakes 2022

Tancred Stakes

Preview, Trends & Analysis

The Rundown

The Tancred Stakes is one of a kind. 

It is the only Group 1 Weight-for-Age race run over 2400 metres on the Australian racing calendar.

It attracts star prospects and champions almost every year and is one of the most prestigious events during the Sydney autumn carnival. 

The event garners a prize pool over $1,500,000. 

Formerly known as ‘The BMW’ through the 2000s, the name of the race was changed back ‘Tancred’ in 2018. 

Former Sydney Turf Club chairman Hugh Tancred is who the Tancred Stakes is named after. 

The Famous Winners and Record Results

Champion import and Cox Plate winner Sir Dragonet crushed his rivals to win the Tancred Stakes in 2021.

Unfortunately, for punters and connections, Sir Dragonet has since passed away and a new champion will be crowned in 2022. 

The honour role in the Tancred Stakes is one that puts a sparkle in the eye. 

Melbourne Cup champion and 10-time Group 1 winner Verry Elleegant triumphed in the Tancred Stakes back in 2020 to make it a second success in the race for trainer Chris Waller. 

Preferment (2016) was Waller’s first win the race. 

Godolphin, like Waller, has pinched the race twice with the old marvel Avilius (2019) and Hartnell (2015) getting the job done. 

If we scroll back further, Makybe Diva (2015), Tie The Knot (2000, 1999), Might and Power (1998), Octagonal (1997, 1996), Bonecrusher (1986) and Kingston Town (1980) have ticked the Tancred Stakes off on their winning resume. 

The Statistics

Seven winners have come from barrier four. 

But, more recently, 11 of the last 22 winners have drawn out wider in the second half of the field. 

It has almost been a 50% strike rate for favourites in the Tancred Stakes since the turn of the century. 

Nine favourites since 2000 have been victorious in the race and the most recent of those was Sir Dragonet (2021) who lobbed as a $5.5 favourite. 

The Tancred Stakes has been dominated by the colts and geldings since 2009. 

In particular, the geldings have won the race eight times in that time frame. 

Mares have also proven themselves in this race with three winning; Verry Elleegant (2020), Jameka (2017) and Silent Achiever (2014) all winning the Tancred Stakes

The main formline for the Tancred Stakes is usually horses who race in the Group 1 2000-metre Ranvet Stakes.

The Australian Guineas Recent Winners







Sir Dragonet 

Ciaron Maher & Dave Eustace

Glen Boss



Verry Elleegant

Chris Waller

James McDonald




James Cummings 

James McDonald 




Liam Howley 

Kerrin McEvoy 




Ciaron Maher

Hugh Bowman




Chris Waller

Hugh Bowman




John O’Shea 

James McDonald 



Silent Achiever

Roger James

Nash Rawiller




Anthony Cummings

Hugh Bowman 




Peter Moody 

Peter Moody




Pat Carey 

Damien Oliver 




Nigel Blackiston 

Craig Williams


The Questions

The race will be run and won on the 26th of March, 2022 at Rosehill Gardens. 

  • There are eight other races that will accompany the Tancred Stakes in 2022.
  • Most notably, the Doncaster Prelude (1400m) and the Group 1 Vinery Stud Stakes (2000m). 

  • Punch in betdeluxe.com.au to your browser and find your home for all your different types of ways to bet not only on Tancred Stakes but every race across Australia.  

The winner and runners of the Tancred Stakes may head towards the Sydney Cup (3200m) later in the Sydney autumn carnival or some may opt to spell with race being their grand final. 

How To Bet On The Tancred Stakes?

Close Bitnami banner