Caulfield Cup 2022 | BetDeluxe Tips

Caulfield Cup 2022

Caulfield Cup

Preview, Trends & Analysis

The Rundown

The Caulfield Cup is the premiere staying event over 2400 metres in the spring carnival. 

Inaugurated in 1879, the race was originally run by Newminster.  

It is always tricky trying to find the winner of a handicap staying race, in particular the Caulfield Cup.

It is made even trickier when it is hard to know whether this race is the grand final or whether the horse you like is using it as a platform to win the Melbourne Cup.

Usually a horse who settles anywhere from on-pace to midfield is preferable, but the superior wide lanes of the Caulfield straight can come into play if gallopers slingshot out deep on the track.

While the track might seem a leisurely stroll, the acid test really comes on in the back straight with an elevated back section that can suck the air out of a horse who does not have big aerobic capacity.

The Famous Winners and Record Results

The Caulfield Cup is a race heaped in prestige with many brilliant horses having won the event and giving this race the title of the one of the premier handicap staying races in the country and in the world.

Only seven horses have won the race multiple times; Paris (1892, 1894), Hymettus (1898, 1901), Poseidon (1906-07), Uncle Sam (1912, 1914), Whittier (1922, 1925), Rising Fast (1954-1955) and Ming Dynasty (1977, 1980).

The most famous of winners in recent times would have to been Might and Power (1997).

His eight-length demolition job will still go down as the most crushing win the race has ever seen.

He and Ethereal (2001) are the most recent horses to have done the Caulfield-Melbourne Cup double.

Doriemus (1995), Let’s Elopte (1991), Gurner’s Lane (1982), Galilee (1966), Even Stevens (1962), Rising Fast (1954), Rivette (1939), The Trump (1937) and Poseidon (1906) are the other horses to have achieve Cup double feat.

Of course, it would remiss to exclude mentioning the great Bart Cummings.

The champion trainer holds the record for most Caulfield Cup winners with seven to his name.

The last of those was his might stayer and Melbourne Cup winner Viewed (2009) who was given one the best Caulfield Cup rides ever by Brad Rawiller.

Damien Oliver is the most successful jockey in the race out of the current crop of jockeys in Australia with four winners, but the champion hoop is yet to win the event since 1999 when he was triumphant on Sky Heights.

The Statistics

Barrier nine has produced the most amount of winners since 1983 with five coming from this gate. 

Barriers three and seven are the next best with four winners in that time period. 

Drawing wide out on the track is not necessarily a disadvantage either. 

16 winners since 1983 have drawn barrier 10 or wider. 

In the Caulfield Cup, six out of the nine favourites between 1999 and 2007 won the race. 

Since then, only Mongolian Khan ($5, 2015) Jameka ($4.20, 2016) and Incentivise ($2.3, 2021) are the only favourites to score since.

In the last 13 years the race has been dominated by the males. 

10 male horses have been victorious in this time frame with the only three girls to have won the race being Verry Elleegant (2020), Jameka (2016) and Southern Speed (2009). 

There are a host of ballot exempt races which guarantee entry into the race. 

The list of Caulfield Cup ballot exempt races;

  • Underwood Stakes
  • Naturalism Stakes
  • Turnbull Stakes
  • Herbert Power Stakes
  • The Might and Power
  • Mornington Cup
  • Coongy Handicap
  • Sheema Classic (UAE)
  • Jockey Club Stakes (UK)
  • Champions and Chater Cup (HK)
  • Meguro Kinen (JPN)
  • Grand Prix de Chantilly (FR)
  • Hardwicke Stakes (UK)
  • Princess of Wales’s Stakes (UK)

The two most recents winners of the race have used the Turnbull Stakes to platform themselves for an attack at Caulfield. 

Caulfield Cup Recent Winners








Peter Moody

Brett Prebble



Verry Elleegant

Chris Waller

Mark Zahra



Mer De Glace

Hisashi Shimizu

Damian Lane



Best Solution

Saeed Bin Suroor

Patrick Cosgrave



Boom Time 

Davis Hayes & Tom Dabernig 

Corey Parish




Ciaron Maher

Nicholas Hall



Mongolian Khan 

Murray Baker 

Opie Bosson



Admire Rakti

Tomoyuki Yumeda

Zac Purton




Robert Hickmott

Nicholas Hall




Mikel Delzangles

Craig Williams



Souther Speed

Leon Macdonald & Andrew Gluyas

Craig Williams




Gai Waterhouse

Chris Munche


The Questions

The race will be run and won on the 15th of October, 2022. 

  • Yes, there are nine more races on the card outside of the Caulfield Cup.
  • A few of these include the Ethereal Stakes, The Gothic Stakes and the Moonga Stakes and the Caulfield Classic.

  • Punch in to your browser and find your home for all your different types of ways to bet not only on Caulfield Cup Day but every race across Australia. 

The majority of winners and runners will trek towards the Melbourne or may even well head to the spelling paddock.

How To Bet On The Caulfield Cup

Close Bitnami banner