Coolmore Stud Stakes 2022 | BetDeluxe Tips

Coolmore Stud Stakes 2022

Coolmore Stud Stakes

Preview, Trends & Analysis

The Rundown

The Coolmore Stud Stakes is one the most exciting sprint races up the Flemington straight during the Flemington Spring Racing Carnival. 

Run over 1200 metres or six furlongs in the old, the straight dash is reserved solely for three-year-old sprinters who possess blistering speed and electric acceleration. 

Inaugurated in 1863, the Coolmore Stud Stakes was originally restricted to two-year-olds. 

That rule was changed to make the race a three-year-old event in the year 1969 when Vain became the first ever winner of the race under three-year-old conditions. 

The race features an incredible honour roll as we have seen champion after champion grace the hallowed ground of Flemington from the 1200-metre start onto the course and down to the finish line. 

The Coolmore Stud Stakes won only by special juvenile sprinters who can handle the wide, open surroundings of the Flemington straight course. 

The Famous Winners and Record Results

You can look in so many directions to find great winners and champions gone by in the Coolmore Stud Stakes. 

Let us start with none other than bomb-proof sprinter Manikato (1978) who bounded away to win the race for legendary trainer Bob Hoysted. 

Zedative (1988), Courtza (1989) and Encosta De Lago (1996) are just some the champions of a bygone era to have dashed to the victory in the Coolmore Stud Stakes. 

More recently, since 2004, the famous names have continue to pile up in the winners list of the Coolmore Stud STakes. 

Alinghi (2004) scorched home to win the race in what was one of his four Group 1 career successes. 

Crowd favourite and punters sentimental elect Weekend Hussler put pay to his rivals in 2007 and gun sire Northern Meteor etched his path to the breeding barn with victory in the Coolmore Stud Stakes in 2008. 

Blue Diamond winner Star Witness (2010) burst home to score victory, while freak Darley sprinter Sepoy, who was trained by Peter Snowden, strode to triumph in 2011. 

Chris Waller has a fantastic record in the race in recent years as well. 

Sine 2013, the champion NSW-based trainer has won the race on four occasions. 

Star stallion Zoustar (2013), Brazen Beau (2014), Japonisme (2015) and most recently September Run (2020) have been winners of the Coolmore Stud Stakes for Waller. 

From an actual pure perspective, one of the more eye-catching and brilliant performances was reserved for Merchant Navy (2017). 

The Ciaron Maher-trained sprinter carved an incredible path through the field to nab victory on the line and begin his journey overseas where he was acquired by Coolmore as a breeding stallion. 

The Statistics

Winners can come from any barriers up the straight. 

It all depends on track conditions and where the best lanes are on the day. 

It is bets to keep an eye out on where the best ground is during the day and making your punting decisions based on that. 

Barriers eight and nine have provided five winners each since 1983, which is the most of any barrier. 

Barrier five is next best with four. 

Since 2004, seven outright favourites have won the Coolmore Stud Stakes. 

The 2020 winner September Run won the race as a $4 elect with Zoustar (2013) being the most recent favourite to score victory as an outright favourite. 

Home Affairs (2021) is the most recent winner of the race and did so after being heavily backed into second favourite. 

The Coolmore Stud Stakes is usually targeted by those trainers who possess colts that can go to the breeding barn to begin their stallion careers. 

But the fillies have made a good fist of the Coolmore Stud Stakes of late. 

September Run (2020), Sunlight (2018), Nechita (2012), Headway (2009), Gold Edition (2006) and Alinghi (2004) are the girls to have cross the finish line first in recent times. 

Freshening up from the Group 1 Golden Rose (1400m)  and coming down to Victoria for the Coolmore Stud Stakes has proven a successful recipe for three-year-old sprinters. 

Other lead-up runs include the Group 3 HDF McNeil Stakes at Caulfield, the Group 2 Danehill Stakes at Flemington, the Listed Poseidon Stakes at Flemington, the Group 3 Blue Sapphire Stakes at Caulfield and the Group 3 Red Anchor Stakes at Moonee Valley.

Home Affairs (2021) won the race after coming from The Everest. 

Coolmore Stud Stakes Recent Winners







Home Affairs

Chris Waller

James McDonald



September Run

Chris Waller 

Craig Williams 




M, W & Hawkes

Dwayne Dunn




Tony McEvoy 

Luke Currie 



Merchant Navy 

Aaron Purcell

Mark Zahra 



Flying Artie 

Mick Price 

Hugh Bowman




Chris Waller 

Glyn Schofield



Brazen Beau

Chris Waller

Joao Moreira 




Chris Waller

Jim Cassidy




John Thompson

Christian Reith 




Peter Snowden

Kerrin McEvoy 



Star Witness 

Danny O’Brien 

James Winks 


The Questions

The race will be run and won on Saturday the 30th October, 2021 at Flemington Racecourse.

  • The Coolmore Stud Stakes is run on Derby Day. 
  • It is a card that include three other Group 1 events including the Victoria Derby, the Empire Rose Stakes and the Cantala Mile. 

  • Punch in to your browser and find your home for all your different types of ways to bet not only on Coolmore Stud Stakes but every race across Australia.  

A lot of the runners in the Coolmore Stud Stakes will usually head straight to the paddock and come back in the Autumn for the VRC Sprint Classic and the Lightning Stakes. 

Some winners may even end up retiring and will then head straight to the breeding barns.

How To Bet On Coolmore Stud Staked

Close Bitnami banner