All-Star Mile 2022 | BetDeluxe Tips

All-Star Mile 2022

All Star Mile

Preview, Trends & Analysis

The Rundown

Racing Victoria’s newest baby on the racing calendar came to fruition in 2019. 

The All-Star Mile was first run at Flemington with Tasmanian champion Mystic Journey taking out the race after winning the Australian Guineas. 

The prize pool for the All-Star Mile is set at a whopping $5,000,000 making it the richest mile race on turf in the world. 

It has since been run at Caulfield and Moonee Valley, and is now set to return to VRC Headquarters at Flemington in 2022. 

The field is limited to a vote which allows everyone and anyone to pick 10 of their favourite horse nominated for the race, while five other spots are granted to horses who can obtain a wildcard entry. 

The All-Star mile was supposedly inspired by the famous fan-voted Japanese race, the Arima Kinen.

The All-Star mile provides an opportunity for punters to become owner ambassadors and share in the winning prize money should their allotted horse win. 

The Famous Winners and Record Results

There have been three runnings of the All-Star Mile to date. 

The first winner was champion Tasmanian galloper Mystic Journey. 

Trainer Adam Trinder guided her to victory as a three-year-old filly after she was brilliant winner of the Australian Guineas at her prior start. 

2020 then produced gun Western Australian horse Regal Power with William Pike aboard as he charged to victory at what was an empty Caulfield due to COVID. 

The 2021 race was arguably the best edition as Mugatoo ran down Russian Camelot in a muddy slog-fest ding-dong battle up the Moonee Valley straight. 

Every year has provided a different winning trainer with Grant & Alana Williams then Kris Lees succeeding Trinder. 

To date, we have also seen a mixture of jockeys to have won the race with Anthony Darmanin, William Pike and Hugh Bowman sharing the spoils. 

The Statistics

Given the race is likely going to be run on a different track every year, barriers will play utmost importance. 

Mystic Journey drew 13 at Flemington for her win, which proved if you are good enough to win from out wide you can do so. 

Regal Power drew barrier three at Caulfield, while Mugatoo drew barrier seven at Moonee Valley. 

Mystic Journey has been the only favourite to be victorious in the race. 

She went around as a $3.6 elect when winning the inaugural All-Star Mile at Flemington. 

Since then, Regal Power ($11, 2020) and Mugatoo ($9, 2021) have caused the upsets. 

We have had one girl and two males take out the All-Star Mile. 

Mystic Journey was a three-year-old filly at the time of her win in 2019.

Regal Power (four-year-old gelding) and Mugatoo (six-year-old gelding) have been the two geldings to have won since Mystic Journey. 

There are going to form lines from all over the country. 

Voting and wild card entry play a big part in which horses make the race. 

So far, The Australian Guineas (2019), The Australia Cup (2020) and The Apollo Stakes (2021) have made up the winners. 

Expect races of a similar mould to be where the winner in 2022 comes from. 

The All-Star Mile Recent Winners








Kris Lees 

Hugh Bowman 



Regal Power 

Grant & Alana Williams 

William Pike 



Mystic Journey 

Adam Trinder 

Anthony Darmanin 


The Questions

The race will be run and won on the 19th of March, 2022 at Flemington.

  • There will be another eight races on the day.
  • A host of open class and handicap races will likely be scheduled around the All-Star Mile program at Flemington.

  • Punch in to your browser and find your home for all your different types of ways to bet not only on All-Star Mile but every race across Australia.  

It is either off to spelling paddock or off to the Doncaster Handicap for the winners and runners of the All-Star Mile. 

How To Bet On The All-Star Mile

Close Bitnami banner