Winterbottom Stakes 2022 | BetDeluxe Tips

Winterbottom Stakes 2022

Winterbottom Stakes 2022

Preview, Trends & Analysis

The Rundown

The Winterbottom Stakes is the headline sprint race for the WA Spring Carnival at Ascot Racecourse.

Run over 1200 metres, it is a true test of a sprinter’s capability to show a dynamic turn-of-foot in what is usually a high-pressure race. 

The Winterbottom Stakes was first run in 1952 and won by Raconteur. 

Group 2 criteria is where the race sat from 1979 and it was then upgraded to Group 1 status in 2011 where it has remained since. 

The Winterbottom Stakes was not always run over 1200 metres either. 

From its inauguration to 1994, it was a race run over 1400 metres prior to being dragged back to 1200 metres in 1994.

Since then, the race has had some handy sprinters take home the chocolates. 

Elite Street is the reigning champion of the race and he joins illustrious company with the likes Buffering, Ortensia, Miss Andretti and Takeover Target. 

Both Buffering and Ortensia have won the Winterbottom Stakes twice

The Famous Winners and Record Results

Graceful Girl is the reigning champion of the race and she joins illustrious company with the likes Buffering, Ortensia, Miss Andretti and Takeover Target. 

Both Buffering and Ortensia have won the Winterbottom Stakes on two occasions. 

Champion WA-born galloper Placid Ark made this race his own in 1987. gre

The Statistics

Barrier eight has pinned down the most success for horses in the Winterbottom Stakes providing six winners since 1983. 

Drawing a wide barrier in the last 15 years has been a bit difficult with only three winners having drawn barrier 10 or wider.  

Favourites and horses deep in the market have had a good record in the last two decades. 

Eight favourites have won the Winterbottom Stakes in the last 17 years. 

That being said, the last favourite to have won the race was Buffering back in 2015. 

In the last three years we have seen some blowout winners with Elite Street at $31 in 2020 and Hey Doc at $13 in 2019. 

Experienced gallopers look the ones to keep your eye on. 

Since 2008, 10 of the winners were five-year-old or older. 

Nine-year-old gelding Hadabeclorka being the oldest in that time frame. 

A lot of horses from out in the East have had great success travelling over to tackle the Winterbottom Stakes. 

Hey Doc being the most recent to score victory in the race coming out of his Flemington-based stable. 

The main lead-ups from a local perspective include the Listed Birthday Stakes (1200 metres), Listed R.S. Crawford Stakes (1000 metres), Group 3 Prince Of Wales Stakes (1000 metres) and the Group 3 Colonel Reeves Stakes (1100 metres).

The Australian Guineas Recent Winners







Graceful Girl

G & A Williams

William Pike



Elite Street 

Daniel Moroton

Brad Rawiller



Hey Doc

Tony McEvoy

Luke Currie



Voodoo Lad

Darren Weir

Damien Oliver




Lloyd Kennewell 

Joe Bowditch




Gary Moore

Tim Clark




Robert Heathcote 

Damien Browne




Jim Taylor

Jason Brown




Robert Heathcote 

Damien Browne




Jim Taylor

Jason Brown




Paul Messara

Craig Williams




Brent Larsson

William Pike


The Questions

The race will be run and won on 26th of November, 2022. 

  • Yes, there are eight other races on the card.

  • Punch in to your browser and find your home for all your different types of ways to bet not only on Winterbottom Stakes but every race across Australia.  

Most winners and runners of the Winterbottom Stakes will often rest up and head to the spelling paddock. 

Some may even opt to take a freshen up and head toward Queensland for the winter carnival up north. 

How To Bet On The Winterbottom Stakes

Close Bitnami banner